You are here



An international journal of imprisonment, detention and coercive confinement

eISSN: 26326663 | ISSN: 26326663 | Current volume: 4 | Current issue: 1 Frequency: Yearly
This Journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics.

Incarceration is the primary publication for peer-reviewed articles relating to all forms of coercive confinement, including imprisonment, immigration detention and other forms of institutional and non-institutional confinement. It provides a unique forum for articles that focus on the experience, dynamics, modes, cultures, determinants and effects of all forms of incarceration. Incarceration is a continuous publication journal.

The aim of Incarceration: An international journal of imprisonment, detention and coercive confinement is to publish high quality original scholarship dealing with prisons and prison-like institutions and practices, including police custody, court cells, hostage-taking, kidnapping, rendition, pre-trial/ remand institutions, immigration detention centres, juvenile detention centres, reformatory schools, secure psychiatric hospitals and other places and experiences of coercive confinement. The journal welcomes submissions on virtual confinement, such as electronic monitoring and house arrest, and work that considers coercive practices in the community, where they are linked to pre-release incarceration. In summary, Incarceration focuses on empirically informed and theoretically robust analyses of these institutions as social systems and on understanding the everyday life of working, living in and managing places of coercive confinement.

Diana Johns University of Melbourne, Australia
Ian O'Donnell University College Dublin, Ireland
Founding Editors
Ben Crewe University of Cambridge, UK
Yvonne Jewkes University of Bath, UK
Thomas Ugelvik University of Oslo, Norway
Editorial Board
Mahuya Bandyopadhyay Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India
Jamie Bennett Youth Justice Board, UK
Mary Bosworth University of Oxford, UK
Bree Carlton University of Melbourne, Australia
Jill McCorkel Villanova University, USA
Reuben Miller University of Chicago, USA
Eoin O’Sullivan Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Maximo Sozzo National University of Litoral, Argentina
International Associate Editorial Board
Laura S. Abrams UCLA, USA
Kristel Beyens Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
Michelle Brown University of Tennessee, USA
Sandra Bucerius University of Alberta, Canada
Victoria Canning University of Lancaster, UK
Anastasia Chamberlen University of Warwick, UK
Gilles Chantraine CLERSE – CNRS, France
Leonidas Cheliotis London School of Economics, UK
Alexandra Cox University of Reading, UK
Sacha Darke University of Westminster, UK
Julie de Dardel Université de Genève, Switzerland
Rod Earle Open University, UK
Tomer Einat Bar-Ilan University, Israel
Catarina Frois ISCTE - Instituto Universitário de Lisboa, Portugal
Kate Gooch University of Bath, UK
Kevin Haggerty University of Alberta, Canada
Mark Halsey Flinders University, Australia
David Hayes University of Sheffield, UK
Andrew M. Jefferson DIGNITY - Danish Institute Against Torture, Denmark
Elena Larrauri Pompeu Fabra University, Spain
Cetta Mainwaring University of Edinburgh, UK
Liam Martin Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
Tomas Max Martin DIGNITY - Danish Institute Against Torture, Denmark
Fergus McNeill University of Glasgow, UK
Rimple Mehta University of Western Sydney, Australia
Claudio Minca University of Bologna, Italy
Renaud Morieux University of Cambridge, UK
Joshua Page University of Minnesota, USA
Francis Pakes University of Portsmouth, UK
Carla Reeves University of Huddersfield, UK
Ashley Rubin University of Hawaii, USA
Anna Schliehe University of Bonn, Germany
David Skarbek Brown University, USA
Layla Skinns University of Sheffield, UK
Gavin Slade Nazarbayev University, Kazakhstan
Esther van Ginneken Leiden University, the Netherlands
Michael Walker University of Minnesota, USA
Jason Warr University of Nottingham, UK
Julienne Weegels CEDLA – University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Jacqueline Wilson University of Melbourne, Australia

Manuscript submission guidelines can be accessed on Sage Journals.


Individual Subscription, E-access

Institutional Subscription, E-access